Things that cheer me up. Part 1

A few things that made me smile in the last few days.

Music:

Malukah, (real name, Judith de Los Santos). I recommended her music on twitter, but i’ll put it here again, because it’s just great. She recently covered “Age of Oppression”, which is good even if you’ve never played, or even heard of, Skyrim.

http://soundcloud.com/malukah/sets/singer-songwriter/ – A few songs from the album “All of the Above”, which you should probably buy if you liked those.

On an entirely different note. Orks in pirate hats.

An Ork Warboss in a Pirate Hat.

A friend recently grabbed Dawn of War 2: Retribution in the steam sale, and it instantly brought back a surge of hilarious memories from when I last played it. The Ork campaign is just mad and silly, with very little trace of the “Grim Dark Future” it’s meant to be set in. The ork above speaks in a wonderful kind of Jamaican – Irish, which just has me in fits of laughter no matter what he says. But aside from that, you can upgrade your heroes with sillier and siller abilities, and even the ones that sound “boring but useful” end up hilarious in practice.

For example, one of the items you loot allows the ork who equips it to explode on demand and be propelled skywards. The ork in question can survive, but most of what is around him doesn’t. You can then give this frankly awesome piece of kit to the stealth commando Ork. I hope you can see what happens next.

That is why I like games, it’s not so much the violence or the explosions, I could easily watch a film, or stay out late in Manchester for that. For me, it’s about seeing the systems in place, and then spotting a way that they can all come together to make something happen. I study physics for much the same reasons. It’s a wonderful mix of logic and creativity, and I love doing it.

I like that the odds are good that I will be able to enjoy both Physics and Gaming for a long time. Part of me cannot wait to grow old and retire from whatever it is I’d be doing. Just so I could have whole days to sit around, read books, play games and think. It’s something I have to look forward to, rather than worry about, and that is a nice feeling.

Tell me what you think for a change, see if I care. ( I do, please tell me what you think, I need to know!! :P)

